NASFAA Leadership Conference

By Debbie Brewer

This will be my very first blog post.

So I thought my trip to Washington DC for the NASFAA Leadership conference was going to be like Reese Witherspoon in the movie Legally Blonde when she goes to Washington DC to fight for animal rights. I can say it was not like that at all.

I had never been to Washington DC before. The hotel and conference were in Arlington, VA. The hotel was wonderful and the people in the area were extremely helpful and kind. I was surprised as I walked around the area that you have to pay to park everywhere. You have to pay to park at the grocery store. I knew I was not in Kansas anymore.

I participated in the Association Management Pathway. I was teamed up with a great group of people. One of them was Vicki Kucera, the RMASFAA President Elect. I also worked with the incoming Utah state president and the incoming South Dakota state president. It was nice to work with other RMASFAA members. We were able to interact with NASFAA members from across the U.S.

We had engaging speakers that shared very pertinent information. There were plenty of opportunities for lively discussion and idea sharing. I left with many questions and a lot of great information. I had the benefit of attending while Brenda Hicks, current KASFAA president, was on the planning committee for the conference. We were able to share a dinner together and do some planning for the upcoming year. She has been a wonderful mentor this year.

My trip ended with visits to Capitol Hill. I have to admit that I was very nervous about it. There was no reason to be nervous. It was an honor to be in such a historical place. It was fun to recognize that we were actually the experts while talking to the representatives. Brenda and I visited Jerry Moran’s office and Pat Roberts’ office.

I am very grateful to have been given this opportunity.

Capitol hill visitCapital hill Brenda and I

Leave a Reply

